TIES

Discover the beginning of Italian writer Domenico Starnone's powerful book, that won The Bridge Prize for Best Novel. You'll start with the introductory essay from the translator and Pulitzer Prize-winner Jhumpa Lahiri. We love her description of it as many things: 'a clever whodunit, a comedy of errors, a domestic drama and a...

The Long Goodbye

"On 13th October my father killed my mother". And so begins this extraordinarily moving and powerful memoir of an Australian family. Spanning three generations of a rural Queensland farming family, 'The Long Goodbye' is an unforgettable story of love and loss. Shortlisted for Australia's National Biography Award. This is an extract...

Good Muslim Boy

'Good Muslim Boy' published by Hardie Grant Books, tells the story of Osamah Sami’s journey from Iran during the Iraq war to the suburbs of Australia and his quest to fit into his new life whilst trying to stay a good Muslim boy. In turns comic and tragic, Osamah’s story explores the universal truths of growing up, falling in love,...

A Handbook For My Lover

Guised as an instructive manual, 'A Handbook For My Lover' chronicles six years in the life of an unconventional affair between a young writer and her lover, a photographer 30 years her senior. This beautifully written book documents the young woman’s demands and desires, her fantasies and eccentricities as she negotiates the minefield...

To Become a Whale

The story of a young boy who has recently lost his mother, trying to make sense of the world of men and then embarking on a breathtaking adventure of his own - a stunning literary debut in the tradition of Favel Parrett's Past the Shallows and Tim Winton's An Open Swimmer. This is an extract from the book, published by Allen & Unwin.

Jemma

Joined over 2 years ago

Good Muslim Boy

'Good Muslim Boy' published by Hardie Grant Books, tells the story of Osamah Sami’s journey from Iran during the Iraq war to the suburbs of Australia and his quest to fit into his new life whilst trying to stay a good Muslim boy. In turns comic and tragic, Osamah’s story explores the universal truths of growing up, falling in love,...

The Descent

When a diplomatic intercept is found to contain an item that could have disastrous effects on the Interplanetary Olympic Games, Denton Staxx has to take extreme measures to prevent the worst from happening.

Smile for the Coup D'état

Broke, drunk, and caught up in the mayhem of a military coup d'état in Thailand, Peter and his dangerously charismatic friend, Joseph, double down on their pursuit of destructive obsessions. But the crimes that they have committed together are becoming increasingly hard to hide under the tumultuous new political order. Pressured...