1787

In this refreshing new take on Australian history, 1787 turns the fulcrum point of white settlement on it’s head. Historian Nick Brodie tells the fascinating story of how Australia and the world interacted from the late Middle Ages, at the dawn of the sixteenth century, through to the time of colonial settlement in 1788. Published by...

Three Wishes

Three sisters, one birthday, one little problem. "fresh, very, very funny ... also intelligent and unsentimental about family dynamics" - Marian Keyes Published by Pan Macmillan Australia.

The Last Anniversary

"I'll tell you something, something important. Love is a decision. Not a feeling. That's what you young people don't realise. That's why you're always off divorcing each other. No offence, dear." Funny, warm and human this irresistible novel is one you will want to curl up with all weekend - classic Moriarty. Start with the beginning...

What Alice Forgot

When Alice Love surfaces from a beautiful dream to find she's been injured in a gym, she knows that something is very wrong - she hates exercise. Alice's first concern is her baby, she's pregnant with her first child, and she's desperate to see her husband, Nick, who she knows will be worried about her. Soon to be a major motion...

Truly Madly Guilty

What's meant to be a relaxed backyard barbeque splits apart a group of friends who can't change what they did and didn't do that sunny afternoon. "One of the few writers I'll drop anything for. Her books are wise, honest, beautifully observed" Jojo Moyes This extract is from the book published by Pan Macmillan Australia.

The Hypnotist's Love Story

Life is complicated, relationships aren't black and white. People are never simply good or bad... Sample this addictive novel from the no. 1 New York Times bestselling author of The Husband's Secret and Big Little Lies. "A sharp and funny romantic tale." - O Magazine. Published by Pan Macmillan Australia.

The Husband's Secret

How well do you know your husband? Cecilia Fitzpatrick, devoted mother, successful Tupperware business owner and efficient P&C President, has found a letter from her husband. "For my wife, Cecilia Fitzpatrick, to be opened only in the event of my death" Published by Pan Macmillan Australia, this is "A staggeringly brilliant novel. It...

Big Little Lies

If you haven't read Liane Moriarty yet stop whatever else you're doing and get reading - to start you off, here's a sample of the irresistible Big Little Lies. Yes the HBO series was indeed great, but as you'll see, you can't beat the original...Published by Pan Australia.

Lovelands

Nothing is more important to us than love, yet nothing is more painful than love gone wrong. 'Lovelands' is psychologist Dr Debra Campbell’s map for traversing the sometimes treacherous terrain of love and cultivating the wisdom and self-awareness for a passionate life and relationship. Published by Hardie Grant Books.

The Revolution of the Moon

From one of Italy's greatest living writers comes remarkable account of an exceptional woman who rises to power in 17th century Sicily and brings about sweeping changes that threaten the iron-fisted patriarchy, before being cast out in a coup after only 27 days. This extract is the first two chapters which you won't be able to stop...

Every Last Lie

“The bad man, Daddy. The bad man is after us.” New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl and Pretty Baby, Mary Kubica is back with another exhilarating thriller as a widow’s pursuit of the truth leads her to the darkest corners of the psyche.

GLASS SOULS

A gripping example of the best Italian noir, drawing on Italian history. The novel is part of the Commissario Ricciardi crime series, and is a meditation on revenge and justice, filled with love, longing and loss. “This is a wonderful series, and I highly recommend it to mystery lovers, as well as historical noir.”— The Pulp...

The Paris Wedding

When is it right to follow your heart? Ten years ago, Rachael West chose not to move to Sydney with high-school sweetheart Matthew. Instead she stayed on the family wheat farm, caring for her seriously ill mother and letting go of her dreams. Now, Matthew is marrying someone else. And Rachael is invited to the wedding, a lavish affair...

No Way! Okay, Fine.

A memoir about pop culture, pop music, feminism and feelings. ‘Brodie is whip smart; merging pop-culture references with vulnerable, personal experiences to create a collection that reads like a hilarious catch-up call with an old friend.’ - Broad City’s Abbi Jacobson Published by Hachette Australia.

Parisian Dreams

A prequel novella to 'Beneath The Parisian Skies'. While Lily falls in love with the City of Light and her professional life catapults her into fame, her personal life suffers as the relationship with her fiancé deteriorates. Then an accident changes her life forever. Published by Mira.

TIES

Discover the beginning of Italian writer Domenico Starnone's powerful book, that won The Bridge Prize for Best Novel. You'll start with the introductory essay from the translator and Pulitzer Prize-winner Jhumpa Lahiri. We love her description of it as many things: 'a clever whodunit, a comedy of errors, a domestic drama and a...

The Long Goodbye

"On 13th October my father killed my mother". And so begins this extraordinarily moving and powerful memoir of an Australian family. Spanning three generations of a rural Queensland farming family, 'The Long Goodbye' is an unforgettable story of love and loss. Shortlisted for Australia's National Biography Award. This is an extract...

Good Muslim Boy

'Good Muslim Boy' published by Hardie Grant Books, tells the story of Osamah Sami’s journey from Iran during the Iraq war to the suburbs of Australia and his quest to fit into his new life whilst trying to stay a good Muslim boy. In turns comic and tragic, Osamah’s story explores the universal truths of growing up, falling in love,...

A Handbook For My Lover

Guised as an instructive manual, 'A Handbook For My Lover' chronicles six years in the life of an unconventional affair between a young writer and her lover, a photographer 30 years her senior. This beautifully written book documents the young woman’s demands and desires, her fantasies and eccentricities as she negotiates the minefield...

The President's Desk: An Alt-History of the United States

In this highly entertaining romp through American history, Shaun Micallef takes us inside the Oval Office to observe each President at work at the desk. Capturing their widely varying personalities and traits we see the evolution of the most powerful country in the world from the men who have sat at the desk. Published by Hardie Grant...

To Become a Whale

The story of a young boy who has recently lost his mother, trying to make sense of the world of men and then embarking on a breathtaking adventure of his own - a stunning literary debut in the tradition of Favel Parrett's Past the Shallows and Tim Winton's An Open Swimmer. This is an extract from the book, published by Allen & Unwin.

Jemma

Joined over 2 years ago

The Strongest Man in the World

This heart warming poem is about the complexity of defining strength and how the term means something different to everyone. In this poem, Bilal shares his love and appreciation for his father and how he is indeed "the strongest man in the world". This piece and many more are included in the 2017 Bankstown Poetry Slam Anthology,...

Dear Writer ... Revisited

People who are beginning to write fiction, particularly people living in remote places, often send their manuscripts to an assessor, and the letters in the original edition of Dear Writer were inspired by correspondence I had with writers when I was reading their manuscripts. I used to sign my letters with the name of a character from...

The Waterfowl Are Drunk!

Kate Liston-Mills' The Waterfowl Are Drunk! is a series of short stories set in the author's hometown, Pambula, on New South Wales' far south coast. A fox stalks a nest of hatching swans, loving parents deal with their child's Down syndrome diagnosis, a close-knit community mourns a death, a teenager is forced to give up an afternoon...

We're all travellers here

‘We’re All Travellers Here’ won the Carmel Bird Award. Award judge Michael McGirr said my prize-winning tale: is ‘the story of an older mother and her adult son on tour. The son is buried alive in his own sophistication and self-concern. The mother eclipses him with her open appetite for life. Both portraits are realised with subtlety...

Hard Knots

Short story. Jules is pregnant and constipated. And freezing. Her husband is indifferent to her constipation, Google doesn’t seem to be able to help her, and something about her childhood is making her uneasy. It must be performance anxiety – but of what exactly?

Good Muslim Boy

'Good Muslim Boy' published by Hardie Grant Books, tells the story of Osamah Sami’s journey from Iran during the Iraq war to the suburbs of Australia and his quest to fit into his new life whilst trying to stay a good Muslim boy. In turns comic and tragic, Osamah’s story explores the universal truths of growing up, falling in love,...

The Descent

When a diplomatic intercept is found to contain an item that could have disastrous effects on the Interplanetary Olympic Games, Denton Staxx has to take extreme measures to prevent the worst from happening.

Smile for the Coup D'état

Broke, drunk, and caught up in the mayhem of a military coup d'état in Thailand, Peter and his dangerously charismatic friend, Joseph, double down on their pursuit of destructive obsessions. But the crimes that they have committed together are becoming increasingly hard to hide under the tumultuous new political order. Pressured...